I Am

Today I am linking up with Kat Bouska, Mama’s Losin’ It! for her writer’s workshop.  Like all of her workshops, you are given some choices of different topics that you can choose from to write about for the week.  This week I chose to do the I am poem.  Certain aspects of this poem were suppose to be fictional and funny, but as I began writing it, I felt it going in a different direction and I kind of followed it.  Here is my poem.

I Am

I am Strong and Determined

I Wonder how long will he have to fight in this war

I hear the crying of sad moms and wives

I see the twinkling of the stars at night

I want to grow old and grey with my husband

I am Strong and Determined

I pretend I am a queen and my daughters are princesses

I feel the warmth of their hugs of happiness

I touch their  giggling bellies

I worry that I should be doing more

I cry when I realize how big they are getting

I am Strong and Determined

I understand that time is precious

I say in a minute way too often

I dream of a happy life for them all

I try to hug and kiss them as much as I can

I hope they know how much I love them

I am Strong and Determined

If you are looking for an awesome writing workshop to join in on, I recommend you heading on over to  Kat Bouska, Mama’s Losin’ It! and join in.

workshop-button-1

What is your I AM?

signature

Categories: Family Life

Tags: , , ,

6 replies

  1. It’s funny, I started out thinking that I would take this poem in a humorous direction as well but ended up with a deeper vibe. I think that the prompts on each line spoke to some deeper part of us. Thank you for sharing this part of yourself with us.

    Like

  2. Really lovely. This was a really powerful prompt.
    My kids were fighting, and all I could think about was coffee and quiet, so I think I will save it for another day.

    Like

  3. Wow! This is breathtaking. From your heart to God’s ears. I want the war to end too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

